Minneapolis
Home / State CE requirements / South Dakota
SD · West North CentralSouth Dakota veterinary CE and license renewal requirements
Veterinarians: 32 hours every 2 years. RVTs: 12 hours every 2 years. Last verified 2026-10-15. South Dakota Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners has the final word.
South Dakota CE requirements for veterinarians (DVM)
| Hours required | 32 hours every 2 years |
|---|---|
| Deadline / reporting period | July 1, biennial (2025–2027 cycle) |
| Online and self-study limits | Not stated on board forms |
| Live / in-person requirement | Not verified yet. Check with the state board. |
| Mandatory or capped topics | Not verified yet. Check with the state board. |
| Accepted providers | SDVMA, board-approved |
| Carryover | Not verified yet. Check with the state board. |
| Records and audits | Not verified yet. Check with the state board. |
| First renewal | Not verified yet. Check with the state board. |
South Dakota vet tech CE requirements (RVT)
| Credential | Registered veterinary technician |
|---|---|
| Hours required | 12 hours every 2 years |
| Caps and notes | Not verified yet. Check with the state board. |
South Dakota veterinary license renewal
Renew through the South Dakota Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, which also runs the official license lookup. CE timing: July 1, biennial (2025–2027 cycle). Records: not verified yet.
Short on hours? Need CE fast lists 55 free live sessions. Check them against the online limit above.
Where to get CE in South Dakota
We aren't tracking an in-state conference for South Dakota yet. We're adding state VMA meetings weekly.
Nearby (West North Central)
Minneapolis
Kansas City
Online options
Free veterinary CE: 55 live webinars plus on-demand catalogs, all with RACE status shown. South Dakota's online rule: Not stated on board forms. Want CE with a trip attached? See CE vacations or all conferences.
South Dakota veterinary CE FAQ
How many CE hours do veterinarians need in South Dakota?
South Dakota requires 32 hours every 2 years for veterinarians (DVM). Timing: July 1, biennial (2025–2027 cycle).
Can South Dakota veterinary CE be done online?
Not stated on board forms
How many CE hours do RVTs need in South Dakota?
12 hours every 2 years.
When is the South Dakota veterinary license renewal CE deadline?
July 1, biennial (2025–2027 cycle)
Can extra CE hours carry over in South Dakota?
We haven't verified this from South Dakota's official text yet. Check with the South Dakota Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.
Does South Dakota accept RACE-approved CE?
Yes. The AAVSB lists South Dakota as accepting RACE-approved programs. Online or self-study caps still apply.
Official sources
- South Dakota Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
- https://vetboard.sd.gov/pdf/Veterinarians.pdf
- https://vetboard.sd.gov/pdf/Veterinary%20Technician%20Requirements.pdf
Last verified 2026-10-15. Plain-English summary, not legal advice. Spot an error? Tell us.
Other West North Central states: Iowa · Kansas · Minnesota · Missouri · Nebraska · North Dakota · All states
Free CE and new conference dates, once a week.
Plus state CE rule changes before they bite at renewal. We're not collecting signups on the site yet.
Opens your email app. We'll only use it to tell you when the newsletter launches.